Cooking with books.

I’ve grown used to meal planning by scouring a few favorite websites:  Cooking Light, Epicurious, the Food Network, Smitten Kitchen, and some others.  But last week my lovely Nana blessed me with a new Alaskan cookbook and I gained a renewed appreciation for the talented Ina Garten (of Barefoot Contessa fame), whose cookbooks (2 of them!) I happen to own thanks to gracious bridal shower attendees.  Ina, like Deb at Smitten Kitchen, often focuses on making basic-sounding foods really good.  Yesterday my sister-in-law Rebecca gave me another great book as a birthday gift — The $7 A Meal Healthy Cookbook.  Thus, this week, I’m going to focus on a) cooking food from books, and b) cooking healthy food.  We’ve had a little too much Halloween candy and a few too many baked goods this week.  Here it goes:

Monday: Instead of cooking and planning I hung out with Kristen, and we bought a rotisserie chicken at the store.  But we also made baked sweet potato “fries” from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics and garlicky green beans sans recipe.  The fries did not turn out crispy like we hoped. :(

Tuesday: Dinner Spanakopitas from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics, with salad.

Wednesday: Parmesan Shrimp & Vegetables with Fettuccine from Alaskan Cooking.

Thursday: Flat Iron Enchiladas from The $7 A Meal Healthy Cookbook.

Friday: Pizza!

Weekend: Leftovers/easy.

Have a lovely Tuesday.  I’ll pick the thanks back up next Monday or Tuesday.

[photo]

One Comment to “Cooking with books.”

  1. Hello! Found you blog through Anna at Hope Road, and have enjoyed reading through some of the posts. I absolutely love cooking and baking! I’ve never tried anything by Barefoot Contessa, but you’ve now sparked my interest! Have you tried anything by The Pioneer Woman? I’ve had so much fun going through that cookbook! And her recipes make me want to melt and die! :D Blessings!

Leave a Reply

