Weber kettle as smoker. (+1000 gifts)

This weekend was FOOTBALL-FILLED!!  I’m not sure if I can handle this the entire fall, but it was a lot of fun.  Our friends Mac and Mikaela offered us tickets to the OSU-Louisville game, so on Saturday we journeyed down to Corvallis to watch the Beavers take on the Cardinals.  It rained all day.  I was, coincidentally, wearing my only rain-proof gear:  a bright (cardinal-colored) red jacket.  Eric was wearing a bright yellow (rival Duck color) jacket.  Hopefully my orange rain boots were enough to hint at my loyalty.

On Sunday, Wil and Kristen both had the day off, a rarity, and they came over to watch football and help us on our first meat-smoking adventure.   Thanks to some research and Wil’s foodie expertise, we had an awesome dinner of pulled smoked pork, swiss chard (*which barely resembled a vegetable after cooking it in bacon fat and white wine…mmmmm), and black beans.




(We like our friends to do all the work for us.)

Unfortunately, it was so irresistible that I forgot to take pictures of the final product. We finished off the evening with a pear and marionberry cobbler and some Settlers of Catan.  Perfect.  Here is a picture of Eric’s plate right after I remembered to take a picture.  The stuff in the corner is the swiss chard; the beans and pulled pork look like beans and pulled pork.

Today I am thankful for…
(Previous gifts here.)

101. restaurant leftovers.
102.  a job interview.
103. actually getting a phenomenal deal with coupons on something I would have bought anyway.
104. ant traps. Ahhh!
105. learning how to use our Weber kettle to smoke meat this weekend!
106. awesome friends who LOVE to take over in the kitchen.
107. a bad week in fantasy football.  Keeps me humble, keeps my hopes realistic.
108. special mugs.
109. exciting odd jobs.
110. weather getting cold enough to brew again!
111.  carving pumpkins at the grocery store.
112. friends who share things (like meals, time, and Beavers tickets!) with us.
113. Annie’s macaroni and cheese.
114. exciting out-of-town adventures every weekend this month!
115. an email today that told me I’m going to get a free drink at Starbucks on my birthday! (Just register a Starbucks gift card.)
116. fall squash.
117. cute old pictures of dating days.


118. the adorable baby next door that plays in our collective apartment yard.
119. my first yeast bread! (Crispy crust, dense middle, perfect sandwich texture! Although this is not sandwich bread…)


120. Christ in me, the hope of glory.

One Comment to “Weber kettle as smoker. (+1000 gifts)”

  1. Mmmmm…. Looks SO good!

Leave a Reply

