Monday mayhem.

It’s been an insane several days here, dealing with some things that, as Juno would say are “way beyond my maturity level.”  I’m so thankful that God uses the weak to lead the strong.  These items are a bit personal to write about publicly, but accept my apology when I say I’m sorry for being away.  Here’s what my Monday has for me today!

1000 Gifts

(Previous gifts here.)

I am thankful for…
61. A peaceful resolution to this week’s events.
62. God’s economy — those who boast in themselves have received their reward in full.
63. A lesson on trusting my intuition when I can’t think it away.
64. A husband who supports me, loves me, and takes care of me.
65. My crazy disorganized house post-painting, which I now have time to fix.
66. My little sister’s wedding in five days!
67. Getting to see Eric’s extended family this weekend and meet his grandma.
68. That Grandma Lynn’s health and memory will be restored in heaven and that her faithful husband will get to see her healthy and happy.
69. Glimpses of fall (while still being definitely summer).
70. Sisters, OR, and its clear skies and fresh air.
71. Peace.
72. The joy and excitement my in-laws always have for everything! They are the most enthusiastic people I know and take such joy in life’s simple pleasures.
73. A fresh perspective on work.
74. Hope.
75. BRIGHT pink toenails.  (I hate most pink things, but a neon manicure or pedicure is a major exception.)
76. Good-smelling things like candles, incense, and soap.
77. Our new computer!
78. Freezer meals.
79. Good photographers (*which I am not.)
80. Knowing how good a dad my husband will eventually be.

Meals on hold!

Here’s a Margherita Pizza I made last week on a whole-wheat crust.  It was delicious.

I usually do meal planning on Monday, but as I have some homemade corn and salmon chowder in the freezer and no time to grocery shop today, I am foregoing the plan until tomorrow.  Do come back to read it!

My garden

I’ve been promising a garden post for quite some time now. (2 weeks I think?)  I will love to give a full update in a couple of days, but for now, enjoy these pictures of my little tomatoes, at various stages small to large!





I sure hope these mature before it gets cold… they are LATE bloomers!

Monotony?

Today is a day of long to-do lists, a billion phone calls, and timing (paint coats!).  Somehow every call I try to make I end up leaving a message or reaching someone who needs follow-up in some way.  So my list isn’t getting much shorter and it’s already afternoon!  Hopefully I will have accomplished a lot by day’s end.  If not, the matter I accomplished this morning was stressful enough for a whole day.

Faith, hope, and love.

This weekend Eric and I visited his parents in Sisters for his grandpa and grandma’s 50th wedding anniversary.  It was a bittersweet occasion, as his Grandma Lynn has advanced Alzheimer’s that began 20-some years ago.  Her husband is such an amazing example of faithfulness — he visits her every single day even though she is mostly unresponsive.  He was advised to divorce her long ago for financial reasons, told “she won’t know the difference.”  He stayed.  I’m so thankful for this example and legacy in Eric’s family.  The beauty of this commitment and of marriage reminded me this week of one of my favorite e.e. cummings poems, which I’ll share with you:

if there are any heavens my mother will(all by herself)have
one. It will not be a pansy heaven nor
a fragile heaven of lilies-of-the-valley but
it will be a heaven of blackred roses

my father will be(deep like a rose
tall like a rose)

standing near my

(swaying over her
silent)
with eyes which are really petals and see

nothing with the face of a poet really which
is a flower and not a face with
hands
which whisper
This is my beloved my

(suddenly in sunlight

he will bow,

& the whole garden will bow)

This poem gives me chills.  I have a hard time articulating why I love e.e. cummings so much — his work just speaks to me in ways that are too deep to describe.  (I realize how truly unprofound that statement was.  See what a buffoon I sound like when held up next to him?!)

Have a splendid Monday.  I promise to be around this week.

2 Trackbacks to “Monday mayhem.”

Leave a Reply

