One thousand gifts, and a meal plan.

I really need a catchier title for these combination thankfulness/meal planning posts…..   I also don’t like how one is relaxing and refreshing and spiritual, and the other more business-related (which yes, I know, is still spiritual).  I suppose being thankful for my food is a good way to approach buying and making it, which are both stressful topics!

Today I am thankful for:

41. My updated living room.
42. As a result, feeling newly inspired to keep my house clean and nice.
43. Gorgeous sunny but not unbearably hot weather — cool enough to let the sun stream through my windows!
44. Homemade yogurt round two culturing in the kitchen.
45. Seeing little kids with their fathers.
46. Although it’s a huge cause of anxiety — the fact that this fall is drawing closer so I can finally figure out what’s going to happen and deal with it INSTEAD of worrying about it. (Sorry, that was vague.)
47. My pretty good fantasy football team — so far, anyway. (It’s still pre-season.  Yes, I play with Eric.)
48. Pastors who preach the unaltered word of God.
49. The scholars who have translated the Bible for me to read!
50. My subscription to Cooking Light. (Thanks, Mama!)
51. That I don’t lose things as often as I used to.  (Thanks, frontal lobe development!)
52. That I don’t get lost as often as I used to, either. (Thanks, iPhone!)
53. All my gifted wedding kitchen appliances, which I use constantly.
54. Discovering the Moshers’ popcorn recipe!
55. Books of all sorts…
56. … and with them, the knowledge that there is nothing new under the sun….
57. …and with that, the comfort that God’s word stands forever.
58. The dependence I have been feeling lately on Jesus to get through my day.
59. Finally re-figuring out our finances for the rest of the month. (Let’s just say the cash system isn’t really working for us!!)
60. Yoga.  Stretching feels soooo good!

And my meal plan for this week is…..

Monday: Shrimp w/ ginger sauce, rice & edamame
Tuesday:
BBQ Steak, lemon-arugula potato salad, sale veggie (green beans, asparagus, or broccoli)
Wednesday: Chicken and rice casserole (in two 8×8’s, freeze half)
Thursday: Leftover corn and salmon chowder
Friday: BBQ chicken pizza
Sat/Sun: Visiting Eric’s parents in Sisters!

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.  Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Phil. 4:4-6

{photo credit}

4 Comments to “One thousand gifts, and a meal plan.”

  1. The cash system didn’t work for us either. We switched to a budget called YNAB (http://www.youneedabudget.com/) and life has been amazing ever since! :-) Great list and your menu sounds delicious!

  2. Oh yeah! Yeasty popcorn! Love the pic.

  3. Yeasty popcorn!!! :) It’s my fav

  4. Haha :)
    So uh… after I got my new phone from insurance you know…
    I left it at winco and some Mexican lady who doesn’t know english took it home and I had a huge fiasco trying to get it back that night and the next day.
    My poor poor frontal lobe.

Leave a Reply

