Painting the apartment: Kitchen before & after

Well, it’s painting week here at the King household!  Except, sadly, it’s only me.  Well, and Kieran, but he absolutely doesn’t contribute by attacking my plastic drop cloth and trying to rub up against fresh paint.  I have some really wonderful memories of painting with friends — the weekend Olivia and I became friends with Henry in high school, we were painting her room;  I spent some quality time with my Papa re-doing my room at home; Erica and I painted our rooms tangerine orange and mint (respectively) in Pullman.   Maybe it was all the fun we had distracting each other, but I forgot how HARD painting is.  (I also have not ever painted a wall as long as the one I painted today, let alone by myself.)  I’m not quite done putting the living room back together, but I do want to share pictures of the kitchen!  I’m still trying to decide whether to paint the wall above the cabinets.  Opinions?

Here’s the [boring, horrible, ivory] kitchen BEFORE:

Before...

And here is the [less boring, still pretty ivory, and still pretty horrible] kitchen AFTER:

What do you think?  Tomorrow I’ll post pictures of the living room. It’s getting a makeover from the same sickly ivory that covers my ENTIRE apartment (literally floor to ceiling — the kitchen tile is about as crazy as the colors get around here).  Can anyone guess what color?

Here’s a sneak peak picture of my tomatoes…. garden post coming SOON.

These all look to you,
to give them their food in due season.
When you give it to them, they gather it up;
when you open your hand, they are filled with good things.
When you hide your face, they are dismayed;
when you take away their breath, they die
and return to their dust.
When you send forth your Spirit, they are created,
and you renew the face of the ground.

May the glory of the Lord endure forever;
may the Lord rejoice in his works,
who looks on the earth and it trembles,
who touches the mountains and they smoke!
I will sing to the Lord as long as I live;
I will sing praise to my God while I have being.
May my meditation be pleasing to him,
for I rejoice in the Lord.

Ps. 104:27-34

5 Comments to “Painting the apartment: Kitchen before & after”

  1. it looks AWESOME!!! I wish I was there to help. Cant wait to see your living room. I love the color choice :)

  2. Nice! Let me know if you need any free design consulting. ;)

  3. Looks good, Brynna :) Painting is so much work!

  4. Stumbled upon your site via msn the other day and absolutely adore it. Continue the truly great work.

Leave a Reply

