You, too, can be a Fledgling Foodie: Herbed pork chops with raspberry sauce

In my last post, I mentioned that I made my “go-to” pork chop recipe.  I also happened to take a picture of it, so I’m going to share it with you.  Get ready, because this is delicious, and possibly the easiest thing you could ever make.

(click “Read more” for the recipe.)

Herbed Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce

Ingredients

Rub
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp rosemary
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Pork
2 pork chops (boneless or bone-in, doesn’t matter…)
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp olive oil

Sauce
1/4 cup raspberry (or other berry) jam.  Seedless is best, but I’ve used seed-in also.
2 Tbsp orange juice
2 Tbsp white wine vinegar

Recipe
1. Combine the rub ingredients and rub on both sides of the meat.  I like to grind mine up in a (cleaned out) coffee grinder.  I do this in bulk now and keep this rub handy so I don’t have to keep cleaning the grinder!
2. Melt the butter and olive oil in a skillet, and cook the pork chops for 4-5 minutes on each side.  When they are done, put them on a plate covered in foil to rest.
3. While the meat is cooking, whisk together the sauce ingredients so there are no clumps.  Boil them in a skillet (you can pour out most of the pork fat and just use the same one) for 2-3 minutes until it is reduced to a thicker consistency.
4. Pour the sauce onto a plate and top with a cooked chop.

That’s it! We eat this a couple of times a month. I don’t actually even remember where I got it… if it’s yours let me know!

One Comment to “You, too, can be a Fledgling Foodie: Herbed pork chops with raspberry sauce”

  1. Yum. It’s that simple. Yum.

Leave a Reply

