Rookie Running: a new plan?

Here I sit.  I sit.  And sit. Oh, I get up and do things, like clean and organize and make food and eat it and run errands.  But sitting is what I do far more than running.  Before I get ahead of myself, I realized the other day that I never posted the completed Couch to 5k progress meter!  So here it is:

And now that we’ve properly rejoiced, I get to let you down tremendously with my confession that since week 9 ended, I have not run the full 30 minutes again.   I ran 22 one day, and 25 or so another day.  Today I’m supposed to run again.  Guess how motivated I am to do it? (Not very.)  Guess how long I would probably run for? (22 minutes.)  This needs to stop.  I have just felt so tired all the time the last week.  I think I’m getting enough sleep, so I don’t know what’s going on – the last couple times I’ve felt almost defeated before I’ve even started, which is a terrible way to be thinking if you want to keep your body moving for a full thirty minutes.  This is why I think I need a new plan and a tangible goal — like a real live race.

There are a few 5k’s coming up in the area, and I might register for one or a couple:
• 8/13 (Next weekend!  There’s some motivation!) –  CATnip Friday 5k, benefits Cat Adoption Team
• 8/21 – Run for the Fallen 5k in Portland, raises money to build a memorial for Oregon troops lost in Iraq and Afghanistan.
• 10/2 – Fall Finale 5k in Oregon City, free registration and breakfast afterward!  Whoa!

Once I accomplish a real 5k I’d like to move on to a 10k training program.  I haven’t found one that I like yet, but I’ll keep you posted….  and I’ll work on signing up for one of those races!

Leave a Reply

