Gumshoe Gardening: Meet the lineup.

This week I got a little ahead of myself, and maybe (totally) forgot that gardening is going to be hard, and will require patience.

Ignoring these facts,  I went to the library feeling ambitious and picked up several gardening books. Oh, they sounded fantastic: Gardening your city!  Gardening in containers!  Gardening in the Northwest!  Eric and I decided to spend some time reading on Tuesday night, and I got out my books, naively expecting to find tons of ideas, inspiration, and valuable advice for my new garden.  Instead, I got lost in a whirlwind of zones and pH levels and garden tools and building beds and mulching and root rot and drainage and pest control….!!!!!!!!

Clearly I’m not doing so well in my “one step at a time” philosophy.  I took a few days off from even thinking about gardening.  Then I re-evaluated and decided that all I really wanted was a tomato plant. Really.  Truly.  I’d love to not kill a tomato plant.

Today I went to a nearby nursery to pick up said tomato plant.  The lady asked me what I wanted to grow, and I pathetically launched into my “I kill plants but I still want some” speech.  I told her I thought a tomato plant would be nice, and she pointed to some tomatoes and peppers.  Long story short, I came home with a whole crew of mini plants, and I am a little bit in love with them.

the crew

And so I proudly introduce to you my tomato, basil, cilantro, pepper, spinach, and fuchsia plants.

Yellow SunSugar Tomato, with its delicious-smelling leaves and its vast potential for small, round, sweet yellow fruits….


Basil, which makes me yearn for caprese, pesto, margherita pizza, and summer pasta salads…

basil plant

Cilantro, without which Thai and Mexican food would be seriously lost…

cilantro plant

Giant Marconi Pepper, whose not-actually-so-giant fruit will grace many a summer salad…

Spinach, the surprisingly delightful superfood…

spinach plant

and Cape Fuchsia, which will draw hummingbirds to my garden with its lovely tube-shaped blossoms.

cape fuchsia plant

I’m proud of them.  I pledge to water them, pinch off the dead stuff, and wage war with slugs, bugs, and neighborhood cats.  (That includes Kieran when he escapes.  The very first thing he did when I got home today with my plants was bite a big hole through one of the fuchsia leaves…)

I bought a few planting pots today at Value Village and Target, but they somehow all ended up being clashing shades of red and yellow, so changes must be made.  Until then…

Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. –Matthew 6:28b-33

One Comment to “Gumshoe Gardening: Meet the lineup.”

  1. I love you

Leave a Reply

