Sunday verse.

The Bible verses that really stood out to me this week were Galatians 4:4-7:

“But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons.  And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God.”

The implications of this verse are unthinkable and inexpressible.  The way we live our lives is determined by a myriad laws that come from so many different directions.  And yet, not a single one of these rules, spoken or unspoken, hinders us in our pursuit of God.  Anyone who trusts in Jesus for righteousness does not even need to worry that their performance is inadequate.  We are unconditionally loved by a perfect father who gives us every good gift and supplies every need, and it has nothing to do with what I can give back.  Even the good things I do are only the evidence of Christ working through us as he makes me more like him.  By his grace, he has allowed me to search his heart this morning through his word.  His grace draws me to worship him.

Thank you, Jesus.

Tags:

3 Comments to “Sunday verse.”

  1. “Even the good things I do are only the evidence of Christ working through us as he makes me more like him.”

    So good, Brynna.
    I studied those verses recently… they’re amazing.

  2. Yes, they are such a wonderful reality and encouragement. :)

    p.s. Don’t mind my horrible back and forth between “you” and “I” in this post. I was being indecisive and then ended up being rushed. Haha.

  3. and “us”! Yikes. Proofread, Brynna.

Leave a Reply

