Homemade burp cloths.

Last Monday, I went to a baby shower for two beautiful women at my church, Hannah and Natalie.  Hannah had her baby boy, Oliver, about a month ago, and Natalie is due any day now with a baby girl.  Jones Design Company‘s Emily Jones blogs about her stationery designing business and other crafty things she takes on.  She’s also a mom of four with a young baby, so some of her projects are baby-related.  Last week as I was browsing I came across a post/tutorial for adorably baby burp cloths, and I decided to make some of my own for these two new babies.  In addition I made a flower pin from JDC and a bow tie pin from Prudent Baby.

I already owned the dark blue starry night fabric, the light blue, and the yellow floral, and I purchased the adorable animal print and stripe print at Jo-Ann’s.

I lined Oliver’s cloths with light blue terry cloth, and baby girl’s with light green.

I loved this peach floral fabric I found — and I have some left over! :) I tried a practice flower with thread because I was running low on hot glue sticks, but I used hot glue on the final like the tutorial suggested.  It was easier and worked better than thread, because it allowed the petals to poke out more than lay flat.

I hot glued a pin back.  Perfect for little sweaters, hats, and shirts.


This bow tie called for interfacing, but I ended up using quilt batting and it worked just fine.  I wasn’t going for formal, and the softness is great for a baby.

I finished the cloths with a tie of ribbon, and pinned on the pins.

Congratulations, Natalie and Greg, Hannah and David!  Enjoy your beautiful babies.

3 Comments to “Homemade burp cloths.”

  1. they are amazing! finally had a chance to catch up on your blog today. hmmm we just need more babies around to sew things for. love you <3

  2. these are so cute! i saw them on the prudent baby blog. they are on my list of things to make for my baby (due in a month!) :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

